MAA: Top Mathematics Writers Awarded Prizes at MAA MathFest

News Story: July 27, 2017


Awards for the year’s best mathematics writing were given on July 27 in Chicago by the Mathematical Association of America at MAA MathFest, one of the largest gathering of mathematicians in the country.

“These award winners represent the best in mathematical writing, and we are proud that they are choosing to publish their work with the Mathematical Association of America,” said Michael Pearson, executive director of the MAA. “Clear and effective writing is the foundation of the mathematical community and the wider scientific community.”


Meritorious Service Award:

The Certificate of Meritorious Service is presented for service at the national level or for service to a Section of the association. The process of awarding the Certificate for Meritorious Service occurs essentially at the Section level.

  • James Alvarez, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Scott Hochwald, University of North Florida
  • Heidi Keck, Western Colorado State
  • Jason Molitierno, Sacred Heart University
  • Gerard A. Venema, Professor Emeritus, Calvin College


Read the full article: https://www.maa.org/news/top-mathematics-writers-awarded-prizes-at-maa-mathfest