Laura Niesen de Abruna Named to the Council of Independent Colleges Task Force

News Story: March 4, 2015

Laura Niesen de Abruna, provost and vice president of Academics, has been named to a three-year term on the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) Chief Academic Officers Advisory Task Force, beginning March 1 and running through February 2018. The Task Force is made up of nine chief academic officers and three chief “other” officers. (This year they are chief advancement officers.) The group is responsible for planning the annual Institute for Chief Academic Officers.

The CIC is an association of nonprofit independent colleges and universities that has worked since 1956 to support college and university leadership, advance institutional excellence and enhance public understanding of private higher education’s contributions to society.

CIC is the major national organization that focuses on providing services to leaders of independent colleges and universities as well as conferences, seminars and other programs that help institutions to improve the quality of education, administrative and financial performance, and institutional visibility. CIC also provides support to state fundraising associations that organize programs and generate contributions for private colleges and universities. Eligibility for CIC membership is open to all small and mid-sized private liberal arts colleges and universities in the U.S., as well as those located outside the U.S. Two-year independent institutions and nonprofit organizations that support the purposes of independent higher education are also eligible to be members of CIC.