SHU to Present 2007 Faculty & Staff Mission Awards

News Story: April 4, 2013

On Tuesday, October 23, Sacred Heart University will honor its own at the 2007 Faculty & Staff Mission Awards Ceremony. The event will be held at 5 p.m. in the University Commons.

It's the way the University honors individuals on the faculty and staff who have provided outstanding service and who are true role models for the rest of the community, said Dr. Margaret A. Palliser, SHU's assistant vice president for Mission. The awards recognize people who make contributions at all levels and in all divisions of the University.  It's not only the faculty who are important to fulfilling our mission, there are a lot of people doing a lot of work across every facet of the University.

Dr. Cima A. Sedigh, associate professor of Education, will be presented the Joseph Grau

Action for Justice Award, established in 1993 in honor of Dr. Grau, a former member of the Religious Studies faculty. It recognizes outstanding service by full-time faculty and staff in developing and nurturing the University as an academic community whose members are both inspired and encouraged to live their faith in action for justice and in solidarity with the poor.

Professor of Economics Dr. Lucjan T. Orlowski will receive the Teaching Excellence Award. Established in 1991, the award provides recognition of and support for faculty members in their pursuit of excellence in teaching. It honors professors who have made a distinct difference in the teaching climate of SHU, providing models of teaching excellence and involvement of students in the learning process.

Dr. Frances S. Grodzinsky, professor of Computer Science, will be honored with the Scholarly Achievement Award, established in 1991 to provide recognition of and support for the scholarly endeavors of members of the faculty. It honors outstanding scholarship that has resulted in publications and presentations in settings involving one's academic peers and professional colleagues.

Michael D. Trimble, SHU's vice president for Information Technology and Security will be presented with the John XXIII Award for Campus Leadership. The award honors Pope John XXIII, whose deep faith and breadth of vision lay at the heart of the Second Vatican Council. It was established in 2000 to recognize outstanding campus leadership and service by full-time administrators and staff in developing and nurturing the University to fulfill its mission as an academic community that is committed to quality, excellence and service.

The Outstanding Service Award will be presented to: Lillie M. Alston, a cleaner with Campus Operations; Claudia A. Burkart, executive secretary in the Office of Vice President of Academic Affairs; Corinne L. Nevers, associate dean of Undergraduate Admissions; and Susan M. Scalisi, assistant for Mathematics in the Academic Department. The award was established in 1994 to recognize outstanding service by full-time administrators and staff.

The ceremony will also recognize members of the faculty and staff who have been recently promoted or awarded tenure, including: Dr. Anne M. Barker, professor of Nursing; Dr. Michael J. Emery, professor of Physical Therapy; Dr. Claire Marrone, professor of Modern Foreign Languages; Dr. Ako Doffou, associate professor of Finance; Dr. Andra Gumbus, associate professor of Management; Dr. Jason Molitierno, associate professor of Mathematics; Dr. Michael J. Ventimiglia, associate professor of Philosophy; and Dr. Jijin Michael Zhang, associate professor of Management.