Bob Woodward Presents State of Denial

News Story: November 21, 2007

Bob Woodward, author and long-time Washington Post journalist, presented “State of Denial” in the Edgerton Center for the Performing Arts on Monday, November 12th.

The presentation, based on his best-selling book of the same name, tells the inside story of the Bush administration's efforts to manage the War in Iraq. Mr. Woodward picks up where his previous books, Bush at War and Plan of Attack, left off, sharing with audiences his extensive access to dozens of key Bush administration figures to uncover the inside story that reveals how Washington works and the struggles to determine America’s political agenda.

Mr. Woodward has worked for The Washington Post since 1971. He has won nearly every American journalism award, and the Post won the 1973 Pulitzer Prize for his work with Carl Bernstein on the Watergate scandal. In addition, Mr. Woodward was the main reporter for the Post’s articles on the aftermath of the September 11 terrorist attacks that won the National Affairs Pulitzer Prize in 2002. He won the Gerald R. Ford Prize for Distinguished Reporting on the Presidency in 2003.

The Weekly Standard called Mr. Woodward “the best pure reporter of his generation, perhaps ever.” In 2003, Albert Hunt of The Wall Street Journal called him “the most celebrated journalist of our age.” In 2004, Bob Schieffer of CBS News said, “Woodward has established himself as the best reporter of our time. He may be the best reporter of all time.”

Mr. Woodward has co-authored or authored eleven #1 national best-selling non-fiction books --- more than any contemporary American writer. They are:

All the President’s Men (1974) and The Final Days (1976), both Watergate books, co-authored with Bernstein

  • The Brethren: Inside the Supreme Court (1979), co-authored with Scott Armstrong
  • Wired: The Short Life and Fast Times of John Belushi (1984)
  • Veil: The Secret Wars of the CIA 1981-1987 (1987)
  • The Commanders (1991) on the first Bush administration and the Gulf War
  • The Agenda: Inside the Clinton White House (1994)
  • Shadow: Five Presidents and the Legacy of Watergate (1999)
  • Bush at War (2002)
  • Plan of Attack (2004)
  • State of Denial: Bush at War Part III (2006)

His other three books, The Secret Man: The Story of Watergate’s Deep Throat (2005), The Choice (1996) on the presidential election, and Maestro: Greenspan’s Fed and the American Boom (2000), were national best-sellers for months.

Mr. Woodward was born March 26, 1943 in Illinois. He graduated from Yale University in 1965 and served five years as a communications officer in the U.S. Navy before beginning his journalism career at the Montgomery County (Maryland) Sentinel, where he was a reporter for one year before joining the Post.