50th Anniversary Celebration

Sacred Heart University 50th Anniversary LogoA committee has been formed and will begin working on Sacred Heart’s 50th anniversary celebration. Tentative plans call for year-long celebration activities to kick off on Founder’s Day in April 2013 and continue through commencement in May of 2014.  The committee is chaired by Ed Malin, associate dean of the Isabelle Farrington College of Education, and Michael Iannazzi, vice president of Marketing and Communications, will be the vice chair. 
50th Anniversary Celebration Committee  
  • Funda Alp, executive director of public relations
  • Yvette Blanchard, professor, Physical Therapy
  • Nancy Boudreau, director of web Content Management
  • Mary Ann Bunting, trustee
  • Emily Dauenhauer, Director of Marketing
  • Jack DeGraffenried, associate professor, Graphic Design & Visual Arts
  • Joe Del Rossi, senior associate athletic director & director of the Pioneer Club
  • Gavin Ferriby, University librarian
  • Deanna Fiorentino, executive director of Student Affairs Research & Special Projects
  • Emily Gillette, director of Alumni Relations
  • Jerry Goehring, executive director of the Edgerton Center for the Performing Arts
  • Rob Hardy, vice president of Human Resources
  • Sean Heffron, Director of Student Experience
  • Ed Hendricks, UAA president and clinical assistant professor of Education
  • Michael W. Higgins, vice president for Mission & Catholic Identity
  • Keith Johnston, director of Pioneer Bands
  • Michael Larobina, general counsel
  • Elizabeth Luckie, senior associate athletic director & co-head coach of Softball
  • John Michniewicz, director of Choral Programs
  • Ann Miron, director of Special Events
  • Rupendra Paliwal, associate professor of Economics & Finance
  • Megan Rock, vice president for University Advancement                              
  • Steve Rubb, UAA vice president and associate professor of Economics & Finance
  • Julie Savino, executive director of University Financial Assistance
  • Denise Tiberio, associate dean of Students
  • Judite Vamvakides, director of the Annual Fund
  • Larry Wielk, dean of Students
The committee will be broken up into four subcommittees: Academics, Advancement, Marketing & Communications and Student Affairs. The four subcommittee chairs will join the chair and vice-chair to form a steering committee. We will also be asking the alumni council, the parent council and student government to play key roles in the planning of this celebration.

The celebration will include commemoration of the 50th anniversary of Vatican II, an event that is strongly linked to the birth of Sacred Heart University. The committee is looking forward to planning events that will celebrate who we are and who we will be in the next 50 years. We will continue to be a forward-thinking and entrepreneurial organization, and we intend to celebrate our future as we commemorate our past.

Members of the SHU community should be prepared to give the committee help and support as plans for this important celebration progress.