Iota Phi Theta

Iota Phi Theta ShieldMission and Values

As Iota Phi Theta Fraternity Inc. continues to grow and strengthen, so will its commitment to make meaningful contributions to 

society in general, with particular emphasis in the African-American community. Throughout America, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity Inc. has come to represent excellence in all areas. The Fraternity is, and shall forever remain dedicated to its founders’ vision of Building a Tradition, Not Resting Upon One!


On September 19, 1963, at Morgan State College (now Morgan State University), 12 students founded what is now the nation’s fifth largest, predominantly African-American social service fraternity: The Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Incorporated.

Today, Iota Phi Theta consists of almost 250 chapters located in 40 States and the District of Columbia. The scope of the organization extends throughout the nation, from California to New York; from Wyoming to Florida; and from Wisconsin to Japan and the Republic of Korea. 


Charcoal Brown and Gilded Gold


Yellow Rose

Executive Board

Polaris (President) & Treasurer: Tatenda Zenenga
Vice Polaris: (Vice President) Osaze Perry-Porter
Secretary: John Santiago
Recruitment Chair: Clifford Parvelus
Historian: Isaiah Walters
Chaplain: Patrick Otojareri


Tatenda Zenenga 

National Site

Iota Phi Theta