Due to the inclement weather, the University will cancel all classes at all locations as of 1:00 p.m. today through and including Wednesday January 28, 2015. Classes will resume on Thursday January 29, 2015, at their regularly scheduled times at all locations. All University offices will close at 4:30 p.m. today through Tuesday January 27, 2015. A decision on reopening the University will be made Tuesday evening and notification to all employees will be made. Note: All essential services employees please report as scheduled. For more info, visit the SHU Campus Alert page.

Clubs & Organizations

Honor Society of Nursing
Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is an international nursing honor society that was founded in 1922 by six nursing students at Indiana University. It is dedicated to improving the health of people worldwide. Its quarterly journal, Journal of Nursing Scholarship, provides current research and policy information.

>> Learn about the Mu Delta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau housed at Sacred Heart University.

21st Annual Connecticut Collaborative Research Day

Student Nurses Association (SNA)

The Student Nurses Association (SNA) is a national organization designed specifically for nursing students. There is a chapter of SNA to represent nursing students at Sacred Heart University. The SNA board acts as a liaison between students and faculty. The board also organizes events both on and off campus. These events help to promote the development of skills, standards and ethics that are needed to become a responsible member of the nursing professions, which includes membership in one or more professional organizations. Thus, membership and participation in the SNA are required.

Community service is an important part of the SNA and is strongly encouraged. SNA members participate in a number of on and off campus service opportunities including, but not limited to: health fairs, food and clothing drives, christmas gifts for less fortunate and blood drive.

SNA offers social activities throughout the year for its members cumulating with a beach end of year party in May. Members attend both local, state, and national conferences. 

Participation in the various SNA events is essential for success, including active support of the yearly fundraisers. In addition there are modest annual dues to help offset the cost of SNA sponsored events.

Additional information about the National Student Nurses Association may be found at www.nsna.org
If you are interested in joining the club, contact one of these officers for more information: 

Club Officers:

  • President: Colleen Jensen
  • Vice President: Mellissa Laparre
  • Secretary: Sarah McDermott
  • Treasurer: Emily Damari